Go to content

1. How do I schedule an appointment?
You can reach us by calling our intake number at 603-606-1233 x 208. You can also email us at referrals@bedfordfamilytherapy.com

2. How long do sessions last?
Sessions usually range from 45 minutes to 1 ½ hours. Please note, that persons using their health insurance benefits may be limited to a 45-50 minute session, as contracted by their insurance carrier.

3. Do you have evening hours?
Yes, morning, afternoon and evening hours are available in order to meet the needs of family members who may be unavailable or working during the day.

4. How often will we meet?
Appointment scheduling is flexible and is to be negotiated between the therapist and client. Often times, therapy begins on a weekly basis as the therapeutic relationship is being established and information is being gathered. Therapy can continue on a weekly basis or can be spread out depending on the needs of the client family.

5. Do you accept insurance?
Yes, therapists at Bedford Family Therapy are in-network for a select number of insurance companies. Each provider within Bedford Family Therapy is contracted with different insurance companies so be sure to check with your specific plan before beginning services. Some insurance companies we work with include Anthem BCBS, Harvard Pilgrim, United Healthcare, United Behavioral Health, Tufts, and Cigna.
Although Bedford Family Therapy works with various insurance companies, using third party payers carries a certain amount of risk in regards to confidentiality. Additionally, utilizing health benefits, versus private pay, may limit the length of appointments and overall services due to managed care restrictions.
If you have an insurance plan that is not listed, please call your insurance carrier to find out about out- of- network benefits that may be available to you.

6.  What are your fees?
Services are billed at a rate of $150.00 per hour (effective Oct. 1, 2019).  Payment (including co-payment and co-insurance) is expected at the time of service and is accepted in the form of cash, personal check, or credit card.
Once your appointment time is scheduled and reserved, we request 48 hours advanced notice for a cancellation. Failure to provide 48 hours notice will result in a client charge of a $100 missed session fee.
In the event you request or require your or your child’s therapist to attend or prepare for court, you agree to provide compensation at the rate of $250 per hour. The fee will need to be paid in advance for a minimum of four hours to account for the rescheduling of client sessions.

7. Do you have a reduced fee or sliding fee scale?
We do not want to turn anyone away due to a financial situation. If you cannot afford the full hourly fee, please introduce this when you call or discuss the matter with your therapist. You may be eligible for a reduced fee which is based, in part, on family income.

"This Mental Health Bill of Rights is provided by law to persons receiving mental health services in the State of New Hampshire. Its purpose is to protect the rights and enhance the well being of clients, by informing them of key aspects of the clinical relationship. As a client of a New Hampshire Mental Health Practitioner, you have, without asking, the right:
1. To be treated in a professional, respectful, competent and ethical manner consistent with all applicable state laws and the following professional ethical standards:
  a.     For psychologists, the American Psychological Association;
  b.     For independent clinical social workers, the National Association of Social Workers;
  c.     For pastoral psychotherapists, the American Association of Pastoral Counselors;
  d.     For clinical mental health counselors, the American Mental Health Counselor Association; and
  e.     For marriage and family therapists, the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapists
2. To receive full information about your treatment provider's knowledge, skills, experience and credentials.
3. To have the information you disclose to your mental health provider kept confidential within the limits of state and federal law. Communications between mental health providers and clients are typically confidential, unless the law requires their disclosure. Mental health providers will inform you of the legal exceptions to confidentiality, and should such an exception arise, will share only such information as required by law. Examples of such exceptions include but are not limited to:
   f.    Abuse of a child;
  g.    Abuse of an incapacitated adult;
  h.    Health Information Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulation compliance;
   i.    Certain rights you may have waived when contracting for third party financial coverage;
   j.    Orders of the court; and
  k.    Significant threats to self, others or property.
4. To a safe setting and to know that the services provided are effective and of a quality consistent with the standard of care within each profession and to know that sexual relations between a mental health provider and a client or former client are a violation of the law (RSA 330-A:36).
5. To obtain information, as allowed by law, pertaining to the mental health provider’s assessment, assessment procedures and mental health diagnoses (RSA 330-A:2 VI).
6. To participate meaningfully in the planning, implementation and termination or referral of your treatment.
7. To documented informed consent: to be informed of the risks and benefits of the proposed treatment, the risks and benefits of alternative treatments and the risks and benefits of no treatment. When obtaining informed consent for treatment for which safety and effectiveness have not been established, therapists will inform their clients of this and of the voluntary nature of their participation. In addition, clients have the right to be informed of their rights and responsibilities, and of the mental health provider’s practice policies regarding confidentiality, office hours, fees, missed appointments, billing policies, electronic communications, managed care issues, record management, and other relevant matters except as otherwise provided by law.
8. To obtain information regarding the provision(s) for emergency coverage.
9. To receive a copy of your mental health record within 30 days upon written request (except as otherwise provided by law), by paying a nominal fee designed to defray the administrative costs of reproducing the record.
10. To know that your mental health provider is licensed by the State of New Hampshire to provide mental health services.
11. You have the right to obtain information about mental health practice in New Hampshire. You may contact the Board of Mental Health Practice for a list of names, addresses, phone numbers and websites of state and national professional associations in Mhp 502.02 (a)(1) (a-e)
 m.   You have the right to discuss questions or concerns about the mental health services you receive with your provider.
   n.   You have the right to file a complaint with the Board of Mental Health Practice.”
© 2004-2023 Bedford Family Therapy, LLC
Back to content